Saying ‘good bye’ to a friend

I don’t know about you, but some of us in IT often refer to ourselves as ‘firemen’ and talk about ‘putting out all the little fires,’ and we grumble and complain how that keeps us from getting to a place of being more proactive
and less reactive.

I’ve been in paid ministry for nearly eight years now; always in tech, the last five focused primarily on information technology.

And prior to that, I spent most of my off-work time (I was a Domestic Water Serviceworker for 14yrs) trying to figure out ways to use the gift God had given me working with computers to help people in ministry figure out ways to spend less time at the mundane tasks and more time doing ministry.

Up until around the mid 1990’s, I couldn’t figure out why God had given me such an affinity towards computers; certainly I didn’t foresee today’s incredible reliance upon technology as having much to do with doing ministry—outside of getting paperwork processed more efficiently and databases to help track people and events—for if I did, I think I would have been more keenly focused on their eventual effect in peoples everyday lives instead of on my Quake skills!

But then again, we are rarely able to glimpse the BIG PICTURE that God has for His creation; occasionally we are blessed, in hindsight, when we realize how a series of apparently nonrelated events, over a long period of time, all culminate into a present situation to bless another. (see Romans 8:28)

Today I lost another friend to cancer.

Tragically she was only 21, and up until a few months ago, full of life, living every moment for the Lord. And her life had an eternal impact on all those around her. Even her battle with cancer brought people closer to God.

Her family was with her every step of the way…her friends, prayer warriors all over the world were praying for her healing; and God chose to bring her Home, the ultimate healing some would say.

So what does any of this have to do with “Church IT” you ask?

Besides the times Lindsey ran PowerPoint for me during CLASS events, nothing really.

Except that I know that she “fought the good fight” (1 Timothy 1:18)…”ran the race to win” (1 Corinthians 9:24) will all her soul and all her might (Matthew 22:37) lived to be an example to all of us who do anything for His Kingdom.

For me that means I need to be a ‘fireman’ sometimes…and I need to do that without grumbling and complaining; without regret because I’m not doing what *I* think is more important, and I always need to do it with the love of Christ.

I’ll miss you Lindsey; my heart is sadden by your passing…yet I breath in joy from the knowledge that I’ll see you again someday, when the Lord chooses to heal me eternally.

Thank you for finishing well…I can hear the Lord even now saying to you, “Well done, my good and faithful servant…enter into my presence and Let’s celebrate together!” (Matthew 25:21)

Lindsey Sowles: born February 3rd, 1987; entered into the Lord’s Presence July 24th, 2008

One Response to Saying ‘good bye’ to a friend

  1. Thanks Dave for your words here. I was blessed to read them and I am also saddened by Lindsey’s passing and yet take courage from the knowledge that she is now face to face. Thanks for taking time to express your own thoughts and insights about life and fighting the good fight of faith. May the Lord give us the strength and courage to all run our race well, to the day we step into His glorious presence.

Leave a Reply

